HAVANT BOROUGH COUNCIL

At a meeting of the Annual Council / Mayor Making held on 28 May 2014

Present

Councillor (Chairman)

Councillors Mrs Blackett, Branson, Briggs, Brown, Buckley, Cheshire, Cousins, Edwards, Fairhurst, Farrow, Francis, Gibb-Gray, Hart, Hilton, Kerrin, Lenaghan, Perry, Pierce Jones, Sceal, Shimbart, Mrs Shimbart, Mrs Smallcorn, Smith D, Smith G, Smith K, Tarrant, Turner, Weeks and Wilson

1 Election of Mayor of the Borough

Moved by Councillor Ken Smith and seconded by Councillor Gerald Shimbart it was

RESOLVED that Councillor Mrs Marjorie Smallcorn be elected Mayor of the Borough of Havant for 2014/15.

The Mayor, Councillor Mrs M Smallcorn, in the Chair

The Mayor announced that her charity appeals in the forthcoming year would be in support of Footprints; Portsmouth Downs Syndrome Association, Reynaud's & Scleroderma Association and the Rowans Hospice, the latter having been nominated by members of Havant Borough Council staff. In addition, the Mayor announced that a small fund would be reserved for distribution to local charities at the end of her mayoral year.

The Mayor then announced that her Chaplain for 2014/15 would be Reverand Canon Dr Paul Moore.

2 Vote of Thanks to Last Year's Mayor and Reply

MOVED by Councillor Cyril Hilton and seconded by Councillor Mrs Gwen Blackett it was

RESOLVED that a vote of thanks be recorded to the past Mayor, Councillor Paul Buckley, for the outstanding service during his period of office as Mayor.

3 Reply by the Retiring Mayor

The Retiring Mayor responded to the vote of thanks and congratulated the new Mayor on her election. Councillor Buckley took the opportunity to highlight the various charity and other events that he and the Mayoress had attended and the support that he had been able to give to his chosen charities. Cllr Buckley then thanked all those who had supported him during his year of office.

4 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Ray Bolton, David Collins, Richard Galloway, David Guest, Rory Heard, David Keast, Colin Mackey, Faith Ponsonby and Peter Wade.

5 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest from any of the members present.

6 Minutes

The minutes of the meeting of the Council and the extraordinary meeting of the Council held on 16 April 2014 were agreed and signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

7 Appointment of Deputy Mayor

MOVED by Councillor Andy Lenaghan and seconded by Councillor Jackie Branson it was

RESOLVED that Councillor Leah Turner be elected as Deputy Mayor for the Borough of Havant for 2014/15.

8 Discharges and Appointments of Trustees

The Council considered making such discharges and new appointment of Trustees to the Mayor of the Borough of Havant Appeal Fund Charitable Trust as was required following the election of the Mayor. MOVED by Councillor Mrs Gwen Blackett and seconded by Councillor M Sceal it was

RESOLVED that Councillor Mrs Marjorie Smallcorn be appointed Mayor Trustee and that Councillor Paul Buckley be discharged from being Mayor Trustee and that a Memorandum of Discharge and Appointment be executed under Section 35 of the Charities Act 1960.

9 Election of Leader of the Council

MOVED by Councillor Tony Briggs and seconded by Councillor Gerald Shimbart it was

RESOLVED that Councillor Michael Cheshire be elected as Leader of the Council.

10 Committee Appointments

MOVED by Councillor Cyril Hilton and seconded by Councillor Jackie Branson it was RESOLVED that the Council:

- (i) Notes the appointments made to the Cabinet by the Leader of the Council as set out in Part A of Appendix A;
- (ii) Receives notification from the Leader of the Council that unless and until the Leader of the Council otherwise directs, the Cabinet, being the body

which will undertake the relevant functions and powers set out in Part 3 (Responsibility for functions) of the Constitution of Havant Borough Council, will undertake all those functions and powers by acting together, save that, where Cabinet functions have been delegated to individual members of the Cabinet in accordance with the Scheme of Delegations to Portfolio Holders set out in Part 4D of the Constitution and/or to officers in accordance with the Scheme of Delegations to Officers set out in Part 8 of the Constitution, those delegations will continue to have effect.

- (ii) Reviews the representation of the different political groups on each of the Committees and Boards set out in Part B of Appendix A and determines:
 - (a) the allocation of seats on each of those bodies to each of the political groups into which the Council is divided; and
 - (b) the membership of those bodies in accordance with the wishes of those groups; and

(iii) Approves:

- (a) the appointment and functions of the various Committees and Boards:
- (b) the appointment of Councillors to those Committees and Boards;
- (c) the appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs (as appropriate) to those Committees and Boards all as set out in Parts B and C of Appendix A; and
- (iv) Approves the sundry appointments set out in Part D of Appendix A; and
- (v) Approves the following changes to the Constitution which are required to reflect the change to the title of Portfolio Holders and in the structure of the Scrutiny Board.

Cabinet Leads

All references in the Constitution to Portfolio Holder be amended to read Cabinet Lead

Scrutiny Board

Council Standing Orders

Standing Order No. Amendment

6.11 Add the following sentence: "For the Scrutiny Board all Councillors who are not members of the Scrutiny Board or Cabinet shall be appointed as a

ANNUAL COUNCIL / MAYOR MAKING 28 May 2014

standing deputy for the Scrutiny

Board".

15.1 Scrutiny Board Quorum to read 3.

Scrutiny Standing Orders

Standing Order No. Amendment

Reference Article 6 to read Article 7.

To be amended to read: "The Scrutiny

Board shall comprise of 11 elected

members".

70.1, 84.1, 84.3 References to Panels to be amended

to read "Scrutiny and Policy

Development Panels".

The meeting commenced at 11.00 am and concluded at 12.19 pm